The Gallery
Tutorials

File Problems
Website/Forum
Episode Playback
Miscellaneous

XviD vs H264 - What's the Difference?, XviD or H264

rishidan   Feb 03 2007, 02:13 PM Quote
Forgive me for bringing up a topic that's probably been discussed to death but I'm relatively new to all this and I honestly haven't been able to find an answer to the question above.

So, here's where I'm at:

I've downloaded CCCP (as well as various other codecs / players) and, unless you count the fact that some programs won't play / rewind / associate with mkv's, I really don't see much difference between the two formats.

Normally I'd assume that it solely boiled down to the personal taste of the Fan Sub group but I've noticed that some of them release episodes in both formats.

So, what am I missing?

Please don't toast me too badly. =)

Thanks all,

-=Rish

Harukalover-CCCP taika   Sempais Feb 03 2007, 02:26 PM Quote
Your post doesn't make sense.

Are you asking for a difference between XviD and H264? Or are you asking about a difference between MKV and ****?

Since both H264 and XviD can be contained within an MKV, and the context of your post only seems to be about MKV and some other container format that you never mention. I can not obtain any idea of what you're asking.

Also this probably should be in the miscellaneous section and not the Episode Playback Help section.

CCCP Insurgent | Video/Sound Playback FAQ | a4e Sucks |
Do not PM me for playback help, I will not respond. Use the forums to get help instead.

Bold-kenja sama   Retired Feb 03 2007, 02:30 PM Quote
QUOTE (rishidan @ Feb 03 2007, 04:13 PM)
I've downloaded CCCP (as well as various other codecs / players)
First of all, I just want to mention that installing multiple codecs, unless you are very careful and fully understand what you are doing, will lead to problems.

QUOTE (rishidan @ Feb 03 2007, 04:13 PM)